Once upon a time, I had a diary.

Hi guys! Welcome aboard once again. I’m so happy to feel your presence 😂 So yesterday, something happened and at that moment, all I wanted to do was to open my diary and write till my ink jar gets empty. I wanted to get comfort in the diary I no longer have.

Once upon a time, I had a diary. It was big and the most beautiful thing I’ve ever had. I don’t know if it’s the secrets I have buried in it or my “not so bad” handwriting or the hearts and flowers on every page that makes it beautiful. But all I know is, I had the most beautiful diary ever.

My diary was the best friend I never had because it was always ready to know what happened during the day, at school, the number of times my crush and I made eye contacts (lol) my unfiltered thoughts and basically everything that happens in my life including the boring details. Remember the saying that you never know the value of what you have until you lose it? I’ll advice you to always put it at the back of your mind and into consideration before you make any decision. I never knew how much my diary meant to me until I destroyed it. And I’m sure you must be wondering why I made that terrible mistake. Well, I’m here to tell you just that so sip whatever you have in that mug and read to your fill.

Finding out that I wasn’t the only who had access to my diary made me mad and swear not to keep one again. It happens that privacy isn’t something that is respected by my siblings😂. Reading my diary became a ritual so there was no way I could keep up with writing to my best friend. I was very furious when I saw my diary on my sister’s lap and after snatching it from her, I went in search of a matchbox.

Watching my diary loose it’s beauty, quality and then turn to ashes is one of the most heartbreaking sight and moment. I went numb because it felt like my best friend was in flames and I made no attempt to save it. But just like my diary, my heart was also caught in flames but I held on and waited so I could fetch the ashes, put them in a jar and keep it ( I watch Indian movies but unfortunately, I didn’t get to keep the ashes for long.)

The next day, I found myself drowning in a pool of regret and till date, I couldn’t bring myself to write one. It was so hard to think of keeping a diary again after the way things ended the last time I kept one and the fact that I get to attached to people and things makes it very hard for me to get over their absence.

When I turned 20, I wished I still went ahead and kept a diary because it would have helped me in analyzing my journey since humans are bound to forget. But it’s not too late is it? So I’ve decided to purchase a new diary so when I clock thirty, I would flip through the pages and get lost in the past.

Have you ever kept a diary?

Do you still keep one?

Let’s catch up in the comment section

xoxo 💋

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Abdallah says:

    Nice write up. Thank you for sharing with us Dear, this shows that I am not too late, I can also have my own Diary too.

    Like

    1. It certainly isn’t too late. It can never be. Thank you for reading ❤️

      Like

  2. Rabia Amal Muhammad says:

    I once had. But I’ve had it since primary so imagine the stupid words in it😂. I mistakenly put in in my bag when I was in ss1 and my friend took it out and read. I just burnt it too. And I missed it so much.

    Like

    1. ouch! I can imagine how it was for you. Now i want to bite your friend. lol

      Like

Leave a comment