New Piercing

I’ve always wanted to pierce my nose. When I was a child, I always looked at my mum’s piercing with admiration and I even begged her to pierce mine but she wouldn’t. When I walked into adulthood knowing there are some decisions I can make myself like whether to pierce my nose or not, I was embraced by the news of how painful nose piercing can be and how the unlucky ones end up having a swollen nose for days. Lord knows I can’t even stand a pimple on my face so how on earth am I supposed to survive with a swollen nose. That thought made me cross off piercing my nose from my bucket list.

So on Saturday 7th November 2020, I woke up feeling a bit extra and on days I feel that way, a push is all I need to do something extra (things I wouldn’t think of doing on a normal day). On that faithful day, it happens that my soul sister Farida would be the one to give me the push.

I got a picture from her at exactly 12:34 pm with the caption “new piercing” and it reminded me of days I used to love nose piercing and how I’m still cuddled in the arms of fear. She said it was painful but something I can definitely endure so I decided to go for it after series of motivational talks (from myself to myself).

I called my mum right away and this time, I didn’t ask for her permission. I told her I was going to have my nose pierced and just like I expected, she asked who was doing it for me and reminded me that it was painful. I called my maternal aunt afterwards and told her that she will be piercing my nose later that day. She also reminded me that it was painful and the fact that everyone kept telling me that one thing made me more determined. Like Geez! I’m a woman after all and there’s no pain I haven’t and can’t endure.

The experience was amazing and at the same time unpleasant. I didn’t kick and scream like a lot of people would do. I just winced and the funny thing is, I had tears in my right eye only and I’ve concluded that my left side doesn’t have empathy.

Few minutes after I’ve earned a red and sore nose, I contemplated getting another piercing since I didn’t like the spot where it was pierced. I wear nose rings sometimes and I know quite well where a piercing would fit me better so I removed the earring that night and got another piercing at the right spot the next day by my elder sister Aisha.

It feels great to have finally pierced my nose and thankfully, it didn’t swell. Piercing a nose isn’t like piercing an ear. It’s worst but it’s nothing you can’t endure. I don’t know if it’s the weather, my skin or the Olive oil I always apply on it that’s making my experience better than the ones I’ve seen and heard of but all I know is that what I got is better than what I thought. Although it’s not completely healed, we’ve gone a long way Alhamdulillah and this marks the end of my piercing journey. With three in each ear and one on my nose, I won’t go through any piercing pain again. I would just live to tell the story.

Ps: Piercing a nose is painful but worth it.

Do you have a question or want to talk about your piercing or fears? Let’s meet in the comment section. Thank you reading.

Xoxo

Leave a comment